Pregnancy Loss and Unhappy New Grad

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

I graduated in 2017 and took a job on a med surg floor that began Feb. 2018. I took that job because it was the only interview that I got. I am only interested in OB nursing and wasn't able to get into that field. I have had a horrible time at my job, capped off by the loss of my pregnancy at 19 weeks. I'm currently on medical/maternity leave and I really do not want to go back to that position. I'm in the new grad program and I should graduate in November. I have 6 more months to go before I have a year's worth of experience. But I truly do not like taking care of the patients on the unit. I went into nursing school to take care of pregnant women and got side tracked. I also am not sure that I will be mentally and emotionally stable enough to go back to my job at the end of my leave. Do you have any advice on how I can make my way to OB nursing?

Dear Needs Advice,

I'm so sorry for your loss. You are grieving and unhappy in your new job at the same time. It can be hard to make the right decisions at a time like this.

The way to make your way to OB nursing is to complete your residency. When you are a brand new grad, it is not always possible to land the speciality of your choice right off the bat. Try to see your time in MedSurg as the valuable experience it is and as a stepping stone towards your goal. Talk to the residency manager about your concerns. Sometimes they can work with you to facilitate a different placement.

Your health is most important. Be frank with your doctor so she can clear you medically with all the information. Sometimes dreading a return to work is worse than actually returning to work. Contact your Employee Assistance Program for short-term counseling.