New grad in need of some more advice

Nursing Students NP Students

Published

Specializes in Med surge/ tele.

Hi, so I've been on this forum earlier last week.

im currently a new grad on my second week of orientation. & I think I'm not cut out for this. I am on a busy Tele floor on night shift. 3 out of my 5 shifts I spent on the PCU. Now I had trouble getting started in the beginning. So around my 3rd and 4th shift my preceptor finally felt comfortable with giving me 1 pt to handle independently. After taking everyone's advice I made improvements. But then today on my 5th shift it was my first time holding my own 1 pt load on the med-surge/Tele unit. My preceptor was around when I needed her, but was charge nurse with 7 pts, technically 8 if you count the one I was handling. So down to where things to the wayside...

i was basically no help at all. The one pt I had, I basically took the whole shift to chart on. & then I had to stay an extra hour to make sure I charted everything. This pt never went to sleep. She was constantly crying out the entire shift & I literally mean crying out. Some of it was because of pain & Given her condition I could understand that she was in pain, so I did what I could when it seem like the meds weren't working.

Anyways whole shift, she needed something. Then she started complaining about pressure and tingling under her arm cast, said it was a new symptom. So I paged the ortho doctor. He came & when he was asking me questions about the pt I had no answer to a lot of the questions. I felt silly because how am I the nurse & not know these answers. I hadn't had time to thoroughly review the reports & history & the shift report wasn't that great.