What to expect during L&D???

Specialties Ob/Gyn

Published

I am almost 32 weeks pregnant and starting to become more and more anxious over labor and delivery. I graduated nursing school 4 years ago and don't remember much from my maternity rotation (zero interest in L&D or having a baby...then an 'oops' happened). I'm just wondering what a typical experience would be in terms of amount of lady partsl exams to expect, interventions to expect, what your "ideal patient" is like, what interventions can be declined, etc. I am older (turned 35 in April, due Sept 1st), but otherwise have been considered low risk (no htn, no diabetes, no placenta previa, weight gain has been perfect, baby measurements have been perfect, fundal measurements have been exact, etc.).

The only thing I am absolutely positive about is an epidural. The one thing I do remember from nursing school is the lady partsl delivery I watched of a first time Mom who went totally natural, no pain medications at all, and she moved around that bed like a dying animal. It was horrifying. That cemented the idea of an epidural.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Specializes in LDRP.

A lot of it will vary based on provider/facility. You will likely be admitted through OB triage either because your water broke or you have been having contractions and your cervix has dilated enough that they think you are in labor. If you come in in early labor, you may be sent home and told to come back when contractions get more intense/regular, or you may stay in triage for a couple hours getting re checked to see if you are making change.