Co worker issue

Nurses Relations

Published

i need advice. I have been a registered nurse for several years and currently work in the emergency room. We

Was the charge nurse calmly, without making excuses, told about the child's condition, that an EKG was needed (from what you describe), almost stat.

From what you present here you did nothing wrong. Can you ask the charge nurse for another meeting to discuss what happened? Try to not get defensive. I guess it's possible you did not handle the situation well? Listen to her point of view.

I'd be interested to hear what she says.

The charge nurse came to me after the PCA complained and initially I was surprised because I did recognize that perhaps I may have been "mean." She told me it was better I apologize and I did. I also explained to the PCA why I was stressed. When I spoke with my charge nurse I explained the symptoms and that I did not know I hurt her feelings or was maybe to harsh. I will post an update after speaking with my manager.

You come across as very reasonable and direct. I hope this gets resolved for you and that you and your coworker come to an understanding.

I hope in all this stupidity someone told the PCA that unless otherwise indicated all EKG's should be done ASAP?

I explained it to her but I highly doubt it was reinforced!

Specializes in Case manager, float pool, and more.

From what you describe, you were more than reasonable. Hope this works out for you and your meeting with the manager is productive.

Classic case of how we are expected to act in a professional manner and then that is not actually supported.