Having a "soft personality" make for a bad nurse?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

First, let me start by saying that the nurse who told me this was not being rude by the comment. And it didn't bother me, I'm actually looking to see if it would help with a specialty in the future. I am a brand new tech and she has taken me under her wing to show me a few things. We have completely different personalities; she's very outspoken and straightforward and I'm very agreeable and that's why we flow well(I made this comment because on the unit I'm on nurses and techs do not get along too well). She has often made comments about my kind heart and my eagerness to learn but she has also warned me staff might try to take advantage because I have a "soft personality", that I need to harden up because I'm too sweet, and I spend too much time letting the patients talk to me. I felt it was a little presumptuous. I will admit that I try to go out of my way to be nice. Yet, I do stand up for myself. I haven't had to do that yet at this job but I know if I had to I would. Or if it was standing up for a patients safety I would do that in a heartbeat. I may be very empathetic to others and try to please but I handle sad and hard situations relatively well. I come from a background of working with children, specifically infants through age 3, and I'm used to talking in a softer tone. Does that make a bad personality trait for a nurse? Is there any nursing specialities that might do especially well with those personality traits?

Thanks in advance!! I'm sorry for the grammatical errors! My phone is terrible lol.

You're a future nurse and you care. Stay the course and figure out how to shorten up your conversations if they are keeping you from your duties.

I agree! I try not to spend a long time talking to the patients if I haven't completed my assigned duties. Usually I'll have a conversation with them when I take them refreshments or if I'm rounding on them.