NSO - Expired Insurance

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Progressive Care, Sub-Acute, Hospice, Geriatrics.

Fellow Nurses,

My NSO that I used back when I was a student nurse had been expired. After countless reminder, I did not pay attention to it because at that time, I was studying for the NCLEX. Final reminder was October and didn't pass my boards until November. Anyway, I am currently unemployed and as I have been looking jobs these past few weeks and I just recently thought of my liability insurance. I tried to renew it but according to NSO, after the final reminder, the policy can no longer be reinstated. I also checked my account on NSO and there were no policies listed.

So, I tried to buy a new policy, first question is it ask me of my state residence. I currently reside in Maryland but my license is in PA. If I typed in MD, will the insurance cover me where ever I work at...specifically in PA? Second question, it asked me if I am employed, self employed, or a student. I currently do not fit into those categories. I am aware that new grads receive a 50% discount during their first year as an RN. One thing though, I am still looking for a job and am not working at the moment.

Any suggestions are much appreciated. Thanks.

Why start paying for again before you need it? Why not get the new policy once you accept a job offer?

Specializes in retired LTC.

Renew the policy.

An NSO policy is usually around $108, or about $9 /month. That's about the monthly cost of 1 super, duper coffee mocha café latte with whipped topping and a cherry on top.

Altho this is prob the remote-est of remote possibilities, even students can be named in a lawsuit. As it is, there's usually a delay between dates of care and when a lawsuit may be filed. So legal representation would be avail for OP if nec for something in the past. Same logic can apply to a currently UN-employed nurse.