Any Successful New Grad Stories

Nurses New Nurse

Published

Specializes in Telemetry, Med-Surg, Peds.

Hello everyone! I am a new grad RN and about to start my first job as such in about 1 week. I am going to be working on a PCU floor.

I am wondering, I see a ton of sad and depressing stories about new grad experiences, are there any positive, encouraging experiences anyone would like to share? I'm sure there has to be some successful stories.

I am nervous, but excited. I have always loved cardiac and feel like I will gain a strong foundation starting out on PCU. I want to move on to CVICU in a year or two.

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.
Hello everyone! I am a new grad RN and about to start my first job as such in about 1 week. I am going to be working on a PCU floor.

I am wondering, I see a ton of sad and depressing stories about new grad experiences, are there any positive, encouraging experiences anyone would like to share? I'm sure there has to be some successful stories.

I am nervous, but excited. I have always loved cardiac and feel like I will gain a strong foundation starting out on PCU. I want to move on to CVICU in a year or two.

I'm sure you realize that such is the nature of the internet that people are quick to post their sad or angry stories, not so quick to post happy stories.

The child graduated with a BSN last may and has been working in step-down for eight months now. She has many positive, encouraging things to say about her job, her colleagues, her manager and her preceptors. She loves it.

If you go looking for the positives, you'll find them.

Specializes in Hospice.