Communicating with doctors as a new grad.

Nurses New Nurse

Published

As I have mentioned in other posts before, I am currently a new grad in a new grad residency program.

We have spent an entire week in sim and going over situations that often occur in the ER and what to anticipate with each patient. Additionally, we have been asked to come up with our own orders to ask the doctor.

My question to you all is, do doctors really expect nurses to call them and say "hey doc I would like a lasix drip, heparin and morphine stat?"

When I worked in the ER throughout the program, I didn't often see nurses giving doctors orders on what they wanted for their patient. Of course they would ask for pain meds, which is typical, but to actually know exactly what dosages and everything for a code situation, or for an urgent situation seems like more of a doctors job.

Can I get some input on this? As a new grad, I want to make sure I am prepared, but I also want to make sure that I do not embarrass myself by asking the doctor for an order that they laugh at.

Let me know your guys' input.

Hey Alex,

I am a senior BSN student, so take my comments/advice with a grain of salt! I am currently on a Neuro Trauma ICU at a level one trauma center - not quite the ED, but still a critical care environment with frequent changes in patients health status and a need for med modifications.