nurses eating their young

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I am a new graduate and I went into the ICU as a first job, and I can say that I DEFINTELY had some bites chewed out of me.

But, I think it had a lot to do with how absolutely critical the situation was.

There's a story here. Would love to hear it.

You were very brave to work in ICU as your first job!!!I can imagine being "bitten" in a normal setting as a new grad, let alone in critical care, as we say in England "I tip my hat to you!!"

tortisshellcat -

There's a joke going around in our hospital that goes ---

"They found a body downtown without identification, but they knew it was a nurse."

"How did they know?"

"Stomach was empty, bladder was full and the a-- had been chewed out."

I've been in nursing for 23 years and, like you, started out in ICU. Trust me, the best thing you can do is 1. not take it personally, and become immobilized by it. 2. move on to the next thing to be done and 3. if it still bothers you later, talk it over with the person (the chewER) because you (the chewEE) want to avoid being chewed on again.

Good luck :kiss

Specializes in home health, LTC, assisted living.

Why do other experienced nurses have to be that way to new nurses? Do they forget their days as the new nurse? (I am a student nurse). Thankfully I have become more thick skinned over the years, and I won't take crap from anyone. I mean, lets all get along little doggies!:nono:

Specializes in Med-Surg, Trauma, Ortho, Neuro, Cardiac.

We all get a few bites taken out of us every day. It's not just nurses eating their young. It happens to me as a charge nurse every single day and I've been a nurse for many years. Gotta have thick skin. Doesn't mean it's right, doesn't mean I put up with it, but it happens again and again.