I was a ______ prior to being a nurse/student nurse

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I have seen TONS of people who have said "nursing is my second, third or fourth career." As I have become more and more curious I was wanting to start a thread to see what areas and walks of life all the nurses and student nurses had before embarking on this incredible medical journey.

I will go first.

I was a TRUCK DRIVER prior to being a nursing student..

NEXT.

I am excited to see what you all did in your PAST LIVES>>>>>

I went to school to become a social worker and had to drop out during my last year while studying for my Bachelors.

I was a stay-at-home mom for the most part for the next 16 years. (Occasional part-time jobs).

steph

Specializes in corrections, MH, geriatrics.

I was a retail manager for several years before deciding to go back to school to pursue my health care career. Nursing is my first step and is providing a nice income doing something I enjoy while I continue to attend school.

Specializes in ccu cardiovascular.

I was a united states woman marine for six years, became a stay at home mom for the next four years before i went to nursing school.

I was a stay-at-home mommy from Jan 1997 until going back to school in the fall of 2003 and then a full time mom/full time student. Now I am graduating on Dec. 11th, 2007!!!!!!!!!!!!! :balloons::monkeydance::balloons::smiley_aa WOO HOOOOO!!!!!

What a fun thread!

I was a chemical engineer prior to becoming a student nurse. My last job was writing air permits for the state. (boring! lol)

I also spent a couple of years home with the kids too.

Specializes in orthopedics, ED observation.

I have a Business-Communications degree that I never used, but went back to school to be a Certified Dental Assistant. Then, I stayed home with the kids for several years, although I filled in at the dental office from time to time. (sometimes full-time, sometimes part-time...)