Need help on blood pressure skill

Nursing Students General Students

Published

We had our vital signs clinical today I could get everything but the freaking BP. I could do the technical part (putting on cuff, positioning stetho, palpating for brachial pulse) and according to my instructor I had that part down pat but I'm having a hard time hearing the sounds. We did a brief video before starting so we'd know what the sounds were and I managed to get all of those right. Is there a trick to placement to hear the sounds and or any special tricks to the cuff? I'm having a hard time getting it to deflate just right either I'm doing it too slowly or too fast. I felt like such a failure since out of our group of eight I was the only one who had issues. My instructor is confident that I just need practice its just so frustrating

Specializes in ICU.

I'm a pre-nursing student, but I took a CNA class at the Red Cross and I have the SAME EXACT problems as you. It is like I cannot hear the "first" one...I dunno what the heck is wrong with me, I guess we just need to practice like your professor said. It is frustrating, I'm sure you'll get the hang of it.:p

Specializes in Urgent Care.

You could try a different stethescope, or readjust the ear peices?

Specializes in Infection Preventionist/ Occ Health.

If you palpate the brachial artery first, it will be pretty easy to know where to put the diaphragm.

Also, you might want to try out some of your classmates stethoscopes. The cheaper ones don't always work well, and some students swear by a certain brands or models.

I believe that a few of my classmates discovered that they have (mild or moderate) hearing impairments after having difficulty with BP's. One ended up getting hearing aids. I'm not saying this is the case with you, but you might want to get your hearing checked if you've tried everything else.

Good luck!