Stethoscopes

Specialties Med-Surg

Published

Hi Everyone'

I'm a student nurse entereing my rotation on a med-surg unit and I need to buy a stethoscope. I would like to know what scopes any of you are presently using, are you happy with it and what one would you recommend?

Any help you could provide would be greatly appriecated.

Thanx

Mito

I've had a few over the years and can always recommend a litman. Now I use a litman master cardiology at work and keep a cardiology III at home. As a great scope for a student I would recommend a Litman Master classic. I had one a few years ago and loved it. It ran around $65-70 and had great acoustics.

Specializes in Med-Surg Nursing.

I agree, a Littman scope is the way to go! I have a master classic II and the acoustics are great! They are a little pricey but well worth the cost when you compare the quality to a sprague scope! Good luck with your nursing career!

Kelly:)

I like the Littemann lightweight. Comfortable around the neck. Not too long, or short and good sound. Costs around $50. Good luck:)

I had the Littmann Select II during school, and now I use the Cardiology III, love them both, great acoustics.

:-)

Funny story, when I went to buy my first Littman ( my hubby made me wait until AFTER graduation for a "nice"scope) I went to the store, like the Cardiology II, about $150 and the saleslady asked me what kind of nursing I was going into. I told her med-surg-renal and she shook her head and said, "Oh no dear, that is TOO much stethoscope for you" and tried to sell me a cheap one!! I bought my CII elsewhere, and for cheaper! I love it.

I got the CII, and I'm sooo glad. It's like the difference between stereo and hi-fi. :cool: