eating our young?

Specialties CCU

Published

Specializes in none.

I just wanted to introduce myself I am a recent graduate hired in CCU

I have not been received well by the other nurses, and I am trying really hard to do the best job I can, but I wonder....

If there is such a nursing shortage, why am I having such a hard time with the other people who work on the floor?

I really want to know, maybe there is a bit of aprehension because I ma new, but I here this saying how nurses eat their young.

And I gotta say, it could be true in this case.

Any feelings or suggestions?

Thanks!

Specializes in ED, ICU, PSYCH, PP, CEN.

Unfortunately I have experienced this on two units I worked on as well. Now Iwork in a warm and fuzzy environment. Just keep putting one foot in front of the other, concentrate on how you treat your patients and provide them with the best care you can and learn as much as you can. If things don't get better than you may have to go to a different unit or place of employment. Some units are just toxic and need to be avoided, but you will eventually find a place that you fit in. FRom my experience "specialty" units can harbor some very territorial and nasty personalities (but not all)

Specializes in Critical Care.

Many of your CCU peers put in years of experience and 'paid their dues' before moving into a 'specialty' unit.

I know, it's out of fashion now to conceive the idea that a year's experience 'on the floors' would have bettered prepared you to be in CCU. But don't discount that your peers feel exactly that way.

And don't be surprised that they don't give you slack to learn PRECISELY because of their beliefs that, by coming directly into CCU, you demonstrate - to them - your desire NOT TO LEARN.

And so, your experienced peers don't give you the very slack you didn't give yourself by 'learning the ropes' BEFORE coming to CCU.