New grad RN starting salary 2017 & 2018

Nurses Job Hunt

Published

Hello all, I'm trying to figure out. How does one know when they are absolutely being lowballed?! I'm an accelerated BSN grad & already secured a job which involved a move as I only wanted to work in a hospital so as to utilize all my skills and learn more. During my interviews I noticed that some LTC & physician offices were actually paying more than hospitals for new grads & had starting bonuses. Of course very tempting but I was also aware that experience received in hospitals is much better. So my question is, what is the starting salary for a brand new grad at your hospital & mention state please? & what is a reasonable new grad hospital starting salary in 2017/2018?

Thank you :-)

NICU Guy, BSN, RN

4,161 Posts

Specializes in NICU.

Be careful of clinics offering high wage than prevailing wage in your town and offering sign on bonuses. They don't give sign on bonuses because they are a generous hospital. They give bonuses because they have a hard time recruiting and retaining nurses.

Specializes in Surgical, CVICU & Oncology, Med/Surg.
Be careful of clinics offering high wage than prevailing wage in your town and offering sign on bonuses. They don't give sign on bonuses because they are a generous hospital. They give bonuses because they have a hard time recruiting and retaining nurses.

This must be true because everytime I researched employee reviews (on glassdoor & indeed) of these clinics or LTC centres, they were filled with bad reviews including; poor management, poor rentention, nurses feeling like they were overworked or having to watch their backs alot because being fired was easy & would take anything such as pissing off some manager. These were in NY btw (different boroughs/counties).

Specializes in Ambulatory Care-Family Medicine.