Once upon a time.

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Critical Care.

Once upon a time ... thoughts of a stressed out nurse.

Once upon a time in a land and time far far away. A fellow classmate, maybe in his 40's used to tell me to prepare for my 20's. He said it would be a time of questioning myself constantly and figuring myself out. I laughed at him inside my mind. Rolling my eyes inside my mind... yet wondering what the heck he meant by that.

At this time, I was about 20 years old diving into the world of my 20's. I thought I had the world figured out, I had my plans in order.

From 2012-2014 I continued my high achieving habits from high school into the nursing school arena. Excelling in every class, participating in every extracurricular, and serving as a student nurse mentor to freshman students, I as a senior student nurse.

Fast forward and the year is 2014. I'm a surgical ward RN at a large teaching hospital. I grow tremendously as a nurse, I think back to my plans of becoming a CRNA and decide it's time to get into the ICU and so I do a in-system transfer around Winter of 2015-Early 2016.

It is now winter 2017. How time flies. And as I type this I can't help but to think how LOST I am. I am currently enrolled on a full-ride roller coaster with CRNA as my destination. Signed up for chemistry II, Honors Biology, and Statistical Analysis. Applied to start my RN-BSN in 2018 Fall and that program is fast paced and ends Spring 2019.

By then I have planned to have my BSN, CCRN, and 3 years of ICU experience with about 1.5 years of surgical ward experience.