Decisions, decisions...

Nurses Career Support

Published

I have a dilemma. I graduated August 11 with my BSN, and currently the job situation in Houston is scarce. I did match day before my captstone started and went for NICU and didn't get an offer (Memorial Hermann). After having pediatrics in capstone I realized that is where I truly want to be! I had an interview at St. Lukes last week, and also Clear Lake Regional for PPU. I have not received offers for those yet, but in the event that I do, I am not sure if I should sign a 2 year contract if I truly want to work at MH in pediatrics. So, should I accept an offer (if I get one), or should I hold out for the next match day which the job would start in December. So either October or December... but who knows if I would even get an offer at MH... this is tough.

Specializes in Critical Care; Cardiac; Professional Development.

You take the job you are offered. If you refuse a job based on a "hope" for getting into Herman Memorial you are far more likely to just end up unemployed. Let that go on a few months and pretty sure you are an even less desirable candidate, for HM or anywhere else. There is nothing tough about this. If you are fortunate enough to get a job offer, you accept that job offer. You don't turn down work in hopes of different work that may never materialize. Right now, you don't have a job. You presumably need a job. You get a job offer, you take the job.