50 Yr Old Experienced RN; Should I go back to school for my BSN or MSN?

Nurses Nurse Beth

Published

Specializes in Tele, ICU, Staff Development.

Dear Nurse Beth,

Trying to decide if I should go back to school to earn my bachelors or Masters. I am 50 years old and I have been an RN for 10 years. Previous to that I was a social worker for 15 years and I have a Bachelor's degree in Psychology. I am curious about my future job prospects in nursing and how difficult it might be to get a job without a BSN as I age. Frankly going back to school seems daunting to me at this point, but since I know I will have to work 15 more years or so, I am trying to realistic. Will I someday be an un-hireable 58 year-old associate's degree nurse?

Dear Realistic,

You are right to be concerned and realistic. If you want to qualify for a non-bedside role

down the road, you will need a Bachelor's in Nursing.

You may be able to find an accelerated Bachelor's program because you already have a degree, or consider an ADN-to-MSN program (which would take longer).

There's a good forum here on allnurses that talks about different programs.

I would really shop around and discover all the options, but move forward in your education.

Best wishes,

Nurse Beth

nurse-beth-purple-logo.jpg

Specializes in retired LTC.

Dear Beth - I think you need to take your advice another step beyond.

The biggest concern I would caution OP about would be about taking on too much debt at this stage of her career. I'll definitely concede that a BSN will be most advantageous for any of her long range job prospects.

But it needs to be remembered that she has a prior Bachelor's degree so her ability to finance some loans might be limited. Acquiring a BSN is prob not too problematic at this time. But the bigger concern would be how to finance a Master's.