What is the difference between Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3 hospitals?

  1. 0 What is the difference between Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3 hospitals?

    Yea yea i know its a pretty dumb question :imbar but i have no idea what is the difference.

    Just need to cure my curiosity

    Last edit by MJ-12 on Mar 11, '04
  2. Visit  MJ-12 profile page

    About MJ-12

    Joined Mar '03; Posts: 147.

    16 Comments so far...

  3. Visit  suzanne4 profile page
    Level 3 are considered the tertiery hospitals. They are usually the trauma hospital in your area and the one that can provide all services. Differences will vary between states as to requirements needed, but most Level I Trauma Centers are tertiary hospitals but not always. They use an opposite numbering system for trauma levels. A Level 2 hospital could have a NICU but only for stable babies, others would be sent to the tertiary hospital for the region. They may have a 24 hour open emergency dept but not have an in-house trauma surgeon, neuro-surgeon and anesthesiologist only for the traumas. Your big medical centers are usually the receiving hospital for problem patients from other hospitals. They have the most advanced equipment and usually a full complement of staff in all areas.

    Hope that this helps. Just remember that a trauma facility uses opposite numbering. Level I trauma is the sickest, level I hospital is a small community hospital where many services may not be available.
    Michelle.Ann and cooliegirl like this.
  4. Visit  orrnlori profile page
    You know I don't know the actual specific definitions of either II or III but I work at a level I. We have all services and surgical specialties availible 24 hours a day and there's specific differences in the types of trauma and emergencies as they are called within the hospital with different teams carrying different pagers. We have two choppers and we cover the entire central and eastern part of the state and we get the very worst of the very worst patients. So at least I can define level I. I also think that most level I's are teaching hospitals, but I may be wrong.
    cooliegirl and lpnflorida like this.
  5. Visit  suzanne4 profile page
    You are just talking of Trauma facilites, they are a Level One if they take the most critical, HOWEVER, with hospital ranking, it is the other way, Level One would be the smallest and provide the least amount of services. Level Two can have many services but not all, and the Level Three or the tertiary center is the one that accepts the problem patients from all over. Most Level One trauma centers are actualy also called tertiary centers, meaning Level Three. There is just an opposite ranking that way.

    I know that this always gets quite confusing for most people.
    bethlearning, llg, and cooliegirl like this.
  6. Visit  orrnlori profile page
    Okay, yeah, I remember something about that from nursing school, oh well, got trauma on the brain I guess, since that's all I see. Never mind. :chuckle
  7. Visit  SmilingBluEyes profile page
    In terms of obstetrics, LEVEL ONE is thh opposite of LEVEL 3 (for trauma)...


    in Trauma, the opposite is true, LEVEL ONE is the HIGHEST LEVEL , "HIGHEST" in both cases only meaning handing all the most complicated and massive trauma or obstretric/newborn cases there are.

    clear as mud?

    I had to give an OB point of view, cause I was not sure where you are coming from w/your question.
    cooliegirl likes this.
  8. Visit  skippy1872 profile page
    Forgive me ignorance on this, but isn't a trauma center a hospital. So how can the scale be opposite?
  9. Visit  dreamon profile page
    While we are asking questions, I hope I can jump in...what does PACU, MICU, SICU stand for?
  10. Visit  rph3664 profile page
    Quote from dreamon
    While we are asking questions, I hope I can jump in...what does PACU, MICU, SICU stand for?
    PACU: Post anesthesia care unit (aka recovery room)

    MICU: Medical intensive care unit

    SICU: Surgical intensive care unit
    dreamon likes this.
  11. Visit  rph3664 profile page
    Quote from skippy1872
    Forgive me ignorance on this, but isn't a trauma center a hospital. So how can the scale be opposite?
    A trauma center is going to be in a hospital, but a hospital is not necessarily a trauma center. A trauma patient may be transported at first to a small critical access hospital (Google the definition) to be stabilized, but then is transferred to a hospital where they can get a higher level of care.
  12. Visit  yourbeautiful1028 profile page
    hello guys, any idea about the classification of the functional level of patient like LEVEL I, II, III, IV....i keep on looking on the book regarding its description but i couldn't find it....thanks....more power
  13. Visit  TeachingeveryoneRN profile page
    Triaging a pt for the ED classifies patients, just as hospitals are classified for trauma. A Level 1 pt, is a trauma pt (high speed impact, head injury, burn victim w/3rd degree), Level 2 is a critical care such as an MI, pneumonia, COPD, CHF, exacerbation, Level 3 is acute care, and level 4 is sub acute care; migraine etc.
  14. Visit  Altra profile page
    Thread is 7 years old ...

    But posters have covered explanations for neonatal intensive care units (levels 1, 2 & 3), trauma centers (where it's also 1, 2 & 3, but in the opposite order from NICUs ), and an approximation of ESI triage designations which categorize patients as 1 - 5 based on the severity of their presenting symptoms.

    Clear as mud, huh?

Nursing Jobs in every specialty and state. Visit today and find your dream job.

A Big Thank You To Our Sponsors