What are your most important pieces of information when giving/getting report?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I'm a new grad and have been comparing report techniques from the nurses I work with. Some are to the point, some go on with much information.

So, can anyone give me the top basic information for report they want to hear/give?

I work in a Burn and Wound care unit.

Specializes in ICU.

A) is the patient still alive :chuckle

No seriously - a brief synopsis of care requirements - that is nursing care requirements and then the things you cannot put in the chart. I.e. wound care - what was the patient's reaction during care did they verbalise anything - sometimes what psychological approach seems best.

Although theoretically we should get all information from the chart we do tend to use verbal as it is quicker. AS I work in ICU I tend to use the old systems approach - neuro, respiratory, cardiovascular, GIT, renal, skin and tissue, psychological and social (visitors) What is said first depends on what was the most important issue of the day i.e. If the patient is neuro - will dicuss neuro assessment ( GCS is so subjective) IF they are long term stable a high point might be taking them for a bath!

Although a systems approach is good remember that the average attention span is not long so give the most important stuff first!!! Oh and part of our report is checking medication sheets.

Specializes in CCU (Coronary Care); Clinical Research.