Physician bullying/sarcastic comments to nursing staff

Nurses Relations

Published

Have you encountered this in your ER and what has your department done to remedy the situation ?

When I worked in another department years ago (CCU) we all just dealt with the occasional sarcastic physician comment. We all knew which ones were the "grumpy docs" and dealt with it as best we could.

ER is a different story. There is one doctor in particular who is CONSTANT with his sarcastic comments, flippant remarks , and "over the counter" banterring. I'm new in the department and new to the ER and learning to develop a tough shell. I've endured his comments for awhile...mainly because I *am* still learning and most recently because I believe this type of confrontation is unprofessional for both parties.

I will pursue this through my nurse manager but ARGGHHH....it makes my skin boil just thinking about it. Any BTDT's ?

I find the grumpy docs more difficult to deal with than the sarcastic ones! The ED I work in is quite a light hearted place, people being *human* as well as professionals and having a laugh. Most people realise the staff they can't have a banter with and avoid it with them. I'm not sure what kind of situation you are meaning to be honest.

Personally, two days ago I was working an extra shift as a conference I was supposed to be on was cancelled. I wasn't in a work mode, so was walking around telling people I wasn't really working (I was doing my work of course ;)), one of the consultants turned around to me and said "Claire, do you ever actually work?" Now to some people, this might have seemed unprofessional and rude, but it was light hearted joking and I thought it was hillarious :)