Not so sure about psych anymore

Specialties Psychiatric

Published

Specializes in Psych.

I have been working in psych for 6 1/2 years now, my entire nursing career. I knew I wanted to work in psych my first day of psych clinical in nursing school. I have seen it all as far as psych goes. Children, adolescents, adults, geri patients, psychosis, mania, depression anxiety, personality disorders, self injury, acute detox.......seen it all. I am currently working with adults on an ACT (Assertive Community Treatment) team. We provide services to clients wherever they are, be it a homeless shelter, their home, etc. In February, I was assaulted by a male client while I was in his home. He was intoxicated at the time. He grabbed me repeatedly and kissed me. Thank God it didn't go any further than that, but on its own was pretty traumatic. I filed charged against him and we went to court. He been in jail for a little over 2 months and got time served. He ended up spending more time in jail for other reasons and just got out recently. My team is continuing to serve this person.

I thought I was doing ok as far as coping, until he got out. I am not expected to complete visits with him at all but he is in the office frequently, I have to see him, at times I have had to speak with him (briefly) on the phone. I am having a really hard time with all of this. I am terrified half the time to go in to the office for hear he will be there. If I see him or even really hear his voice, I am immediately in panic mode. My co workers do their best to run interference but it is still hard. Based on this and my many other experiences working in our very broken mental health system, I don't really feel good about what I'm doing anymore and am thinking about changing specialties. Has anyone on here ever done this? I am worried I have pigeonholed myself.

Specializes in Psych, Addictions, SOL (Student of Life).