Domestic Violence: "Are You Safe At Home?"

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in CCU, SICU, CVSICU, Precepting & Teaching.

I was taken by surprise by the question, although I shouldn't have been. As a nurse, I know it's a standard question on the standard intake forms, although it is often skipped over and almost always asked without expectation of a real answer. And because I wasn't prepared to answer, I gave the truthful answer and then burst into tears. No. I wasn't safe at home. In fact, I was so unsafe that I had walked away with what I could carry -- and my dog. I walked away without my medications, my glucose testing supplies or my CPAP. I didn't have clothes beyond a couple of changes of underwear, or toiletries or makeup. I didn't even have a credit card. I did have a driver's license, insurance card, social security card and passport.

I will never forget the look of horror on that MA's face when she did a quick double take and realized that she had before her a patient who had actually answered that she was not safe at home. My primary care provider, when she appeared, seemed to have no more idea of what to do with the question -- and my answer -- than the MA. It was a good thing that I knew what I wanted.

"My husband is abusive," I told them. "I had to leave without my medications, my glucose testing supplies or my CPAP. I need prescriptions for all of that, since there are no refills. I'll need a hard copy of the prescriptions, since I don't know where I'll be living." Or even, although I didn't say that, where I'm going tonight.