Are all agencies this messed up?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

A little background- I'm a former high school teacher and EMT-B with lots of ambulance experience that recently started RN school at a community college. I applied to two places. One of them required that you be a CNA; one of them added points if you were. So I became a CNA and saw a craigslist add by an agency for CNAs (and LPNs and RNs) and applied figuring that it would be good to get some experience on the books and being a CNA while in school would only make me a better RN.

So anyway, they sent me to a place IN THE MIDDLE OF NO WHERE. Check out this aerial shot. Yes, there is a town there.

attachment.php?attachmentid=27516&stc=1

I was staying in a slightly larger town 20 miles away. I worked 0600--1800 and drove back to the hotel. There was a restaurant across the street. I had dinner and a margarita. They weren't messing around with their pours. It was about two and a half margaritas. I had to be back at the place to work again at 0600. I crack a beer and turn on the HBO. By the way, I was not on call.

Half way through my beer my phone rings. It's the agency. "Can you go back in and work the night shift. I know you have to work at 0600, but somebody had to go home."

"Sorry," I says cheerfully, "I had a margarita with dinner and I'm actually drinking a beer right now. I can't go in."

"Well, at least I tried" says the person and hangs up.

Two minutes later my phone rings again. It's some boss lady. She barely even says hello.

"We need you to go right back in there."

"No way," I says, "like I told the other lady, I had a margarita just a bit ago and you guys called me while I was drinking a Guinness."

"You don't even want to try?" She says in a whiny voice.

My jaw drops. I say, "I don't even know what that means. I shouldn't even drive right now let alone take care of patients."

"Ok, fine" and she hangs up on me.

-------------