Help with the Strength & Weakness interview question.

Nurses Career Support

Published

Hi all,

I have been thinking about how to answer the What is your biggest weakness question in case I am asked. My thought is as a new graduate nurse, I have a ton of clinical weaknesses with time management being the biggest. If frame the answer as "As a new graduate nurse, my biggest weakness is time management, but I am actively working on ways to improve my time management skills by researching the best ways to get organized and other nursing strategies to improve time management."

Is this a good answer OR do I stay away from Time management as an answer all together and focus on a personality flaw? What are some examples of this? This is a tough question and I really want to get it right.

Thank you!

Mine was that I often have to remind myself to express appreciation towards the people on my "team". I'm not someone who requires a lot of praise, so I'm not naturally sensitive to other people's need for it.

It was a genuine answer. The director who asked me said she was the same way. It really just depends on who's interviewing you.

Specializes in Nursing Professional Development.

I think "time management" is fine. It is expected that a new grad will struggle with time management: so, admitting that it is something that you are working to improve is not a bad thing. Just be sure to emphasize that you are improving and look forward to mastering this skill as you get a little experience. Don't dwell on the negative aspects much: emphasize your positive attitude about conquering it.

Also, it's usually good to be prepared to answer a follow-up question or two about whatever weakness/strength you choose to discuss. That's one way I assess whether or not the candidate is making up a fake answer, etc. I ask them to give an example of how that weakness has hurt them in the past, what they are doing to improve, etc.

Good luck!

Specializes in NICU.