Too old for nursing school?

Nursing Students General Students

Published

Hi all. If you have asked yourself if you are too old for nursing school. Let me assure you that you are not. I have been a nurse for about 10 years and this is a 2nd career for me. My first attempt at college 30 years ago was a waste of time and money. I knew where all the parties were but the classes, not so much.

Fast forward, to 11 years ago, I found myself divorced, a single mom, and scared to death about the example I was setting for my daughter by never finishing college. I took the first step and headed to the local community college, embarrassed by my transcript but thankfully that they welcome everyone. My journey began...LVN, ADN, BSN, and MSN in 2017. I am sharing this to help someone else begin their journey. You can do it!

Thanks!

Thanks! I am 86 and my doctor says that it's a bad idea. But if you believe that I can do it, then you must be right! ;)

I can relate to you quite a bit, my first attempt at college was, well trash to be blunt. The same as you, knew where the parties were and didn't give my classes the time and attention they required. Plus, I did pick a major that would have never been good for me to begin with. I would likely never have found a job even if I did finish. But, no reason to get into all that.

After much hard work at a low paying entry level job, paying off old student debts and having a family of my own; I decided it was time to get the career I had always wanted. What was I going to take? Obviously nursing was calling me.

I was 30 when I started my prereqs, and am attending my nursing courses this fall (I got in! yay!)

My only regret is not starting in nursing sooner, but considering my past I might not have made it through back then anyway. I have changed my life to set a good example for my two sons. Their father and I aren't married, yet. He is the most supportive wonderful father and I am so lucky.