HATE Nursing - Career change options?

Nurses Career Support

Published

I've been a nurse for a year now, and I hate everything about it. I had major doubts about becoming a nurse while I was in school, but was convinced by family and professors to stick with it. I can honestly say that I do not feel as if there is any nursing job that would make me happy. I know there are many opportunities for experienced nurses in outpatient settings and in management and administration, but no job descriptions I have researched and read about interest me in the slightest. My current jobs make me very unhappy as I hate the politics, and have a very hard time dealing with the anxiety that comes with nursing. If any nurses have gone through something similar and left the field all together, I would love to know what career you moved on to. Any suggestions for jobs that accept a bachelors degree in any field would be welcome as well!

Substitute teach while going for teaching certificate to teach health class in high school? Where I am, all that is required to apply to substitute teach is a bachelor's. But if you hate the politics of nursing, I'm sure you'd hate the politics of our education system. I don't know. I may or may not be faced with the same situation if I get a certain letter from the BON soon. So if you think of something, let me know too.

Someone's left a great big list of jobs on another thread... Go check it out..

Specializes in ICU.

Many colleges have a program where "if you have a 4 year degree in anything, you can get a master's in education in one year." My sister-n-law had a communications degree, but couldn't find a job. She went back for one year and obtained a master's in education and now teaches.

Specializes in RN, DSD.