ABSN University of Southern Maine 2019

Nursing Students School Programs

Published

Hello, for those of you applying for the ABSN-USM 2019 cohort.

I am currently a student at USM-Health Science Major with a USM GPA of 3.7 with a 3.4 in my Pre-requesites and additional courses such as Chemistry and Human Growth and Development. I am wondering who may be applying out there to this program, and why? I am extremely nervous about applying and being rejected...it's never a wonderful feeling. I always wanted to be a nurse and I wanted this fast paced opportunity for years now since my military days. Looking forward to seeing the comments and who may be applying!

Specializes in Education, FP, LNC, Forensics, ED, OB.

Hello gcano93,

I just wanted to wish you good luck being accepted and with your Nursing-career plans.

Thank you, I am trying to be optimistic.

Hi gcano93! I am also planning on applying to the 2019 cohort of the USM ABSN program. I graduated in 2010 with a BA in French, and a 3.83 GPA. I haven't yet finished my prerequisites but I probably will not have time to take any of the 'recommended' prereqs. Hopefully that won't hurt my chances! Have you already submitted your application? Why have you chosen to apply to USM in particular? Good luck!

Hey Sab, sorry been really occupied. That is a wonderful GPA, and you stated that you are currently taking the remaining prerequisites for the program? They favor those with a higher GPA to see how successful that individual may be in the program. I am currently a student at USM and I will be graduating this fall with a GPA that is 3.7; additionally, I have all the prerequisites and supportive courses completed.