Are You A Multi-tasker?

Since I was a kid I thought I was a master at multi-tasking. After all I could watch TV while doing my math homework – no problem! As a nurse I could manage all the intricacies of the care of 30 patients (with a little help from my staff) – no problem! I could shift my attention to an emergency immediately and function effectively – no problem! But is multi-tasking really bringing out the best in us? And don’t you need that skill to be an effective nurse? Let’s explore. Nurses Announcements Archive

Updated:   Published

Specializes in Wellness and Coaching for Women in their Third Act.

Multi-tasking has been over-rated even tho I still believe I can do it. But truth be told, I know every time I am immersed in a project and get interrupted, I have to regroup, rethink where I left off, try to remember the creative thoughts and energy I had been cultivating, and find myself frustrated and wasting time. So here is what the literature says about the drawbacks of multi-tasking.

Decreased Productivity

Doing more than one task at a time, especially more than one complex task, takes a toll on productivity. Psychologists who study what happens to cognition (mental processes) when people try to perform more than one task at a time have found that the mind and brain were not designed for heavy-duty multitasking. There's a lag time while your brain shifts attention from one task to another. And while it feels like this shift is seamless, it actually takes as much as 40 percent more time than focusing on one task at a time -- more for complex tasks.

Attention Deficit

Managers are facing a reality where we are perpetually under pressure, overloaded with information, and distracted. Researchers have found that our attention has decreased significantly over the past decade. We are involuntarily not paying attention to what we are doing 47 per cent of our waking hours.

Higher stress, diminished mental functioning, brain overload