Nobody Knew I was Coming? Travel Nurse continues

This is Chapter 7: We're back in Maine. The scenarios between the office, (who didn't know who I was,) my cottage by the sea nightmare and the unique Home Care clients, kept me hopping! Specialties Travel Article

Nobody Knew I was Coming? Travel Nurse continues

My arrival to my office site in Maine appeared to be unexpected. :( While it was established that I was due to arrive, the office staff had no clue of whom I was nor my specialty.

They had in fact, assumed I was a Hospice nurse and began to introduce me as such! It wasn't until then that I understood what was happening and corrected the situation.

"But," asked a Hospice nurse eagerly, "You'll do it sometimes, right?"

"No," I gently stated, "That is not what my contract states." The glare she gave me could have melted lead. There was a flurry of confusion, phone calls and discussions, attempting to clear the air regarding whom I was and my expected duties. In the meantime, I had no place which to hang my coat, secure my belongings or sit down. It was q small office, quite active. The folks were generally cordial, but unsure of many things. Staff were scrambling to find supplies, a computer and toilette paper. I had never seen such chaos in Home Health before, especially my first day on assignment. I fought an urge to dive under the desk so as not to get run over.