Medication addiction treatment... are we circling the drain?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I'm not an expert on addiction treatment. Most of what I know has more to do with being raised by heroin addicts than with my nursing career.

In my personal history, medication assisted treatment doesn't work. In any of my parents' countless recovery attempts (both inpatient and outpatient) all the methadone ever did was keep them from getting sick off the withdrawal symptoms. Sure, this is an obvious way to get someone into rehab, anyone who has been through abstinence withdrawal is terrified of it, but they usually still sent them home with prescriptions or weaned them off the methadone days before discharge. Once the methadone is gone they were looking for anything they could get their hands on again. In the outpatient settings, my mom would usually not even get through the whole methadone program without using again. Then she would stay on the program because, well hey, methadone is great too. Anytime one of them came back from rehab I usually got 2-3 weeks before I was coming home to blacked out windows and an empty fridge.

I'm watching "Warning: This Drug May Kill You" and I'm learning about brand new drugs available for the same thing. Some quick reading on Lexicomp and they are essentially Methadone without the social stigma. Doctors in the documentary are praising this method and comparing it to a nicotine patch. My cousin has been chewing nicotine gum for nearly 15 years now. It's better than smoking because he's not inhaling carpet glue and rat poison, but he is still addicted.