Experienced RN, Qutting during Orientation

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Tele/Interventional/Non-Invasive Cardiology.

Hi all,

I am an experienced nurse (3.5 years of nursing). Lately, I have been seriously dealing with mental health issues, depression, etc. I had been out of work for 4 months or so because I have been burnt out. I took a job at a hospital foolishly because I thought it was the only position I could get. However, during orientation, I am really realizing that acute care is not for me. Literally, during hospital orientation, I found myself having flashbacks. Lately, I have been crying, not sleeping, etc.

To make a long story short, I know it is wrong to take a job you are convinced you'd want.Actually, I think many of these decisions are from not being well. I just want to be well. I just want to know how to resign. Tomorrow is my first day of hospital orientation, so it isn't that far into orientation. Also wondering, if I resign, would I need to put this on my resume? I am planning to relocate anyway to be closer to my family.

I realize many nurses here would resent me for doing this. This is not what I wanted or planned. Lately, my mind is just not where it should be. Thanks for any advice.

Specializes in Neuroscience.

No one is going to resent you for doing what is right for you. It sounds like you need a break, and your health is more important than some job. Move closer home to family and focus on your mental health. The only thing I would do in your shoes is carefully assess my financial situation and ensure stability there. Financial issues can lead to increased stress, but only you understand your financial standing. You won't have to put it on your employment history, as there isn't any history there.

Take care of yourself and get to a doctor. They may have medication or advice on how to handle the amount of stress you are under. Best of luck!