I hate this

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Hello! I'm new to nursing. I've been an lpn at a nursing home almost 2 months now. It took me about a month to finally get comfortable on my unit. Im currently full time but I'm going part time beginning February. It's exhausting being a new nurse working full time I just can't do it everyday. I said once I get better I'll pick up. I'm bothered by the fact that I have to switch units because they said theres no part time shift available on my unit. i actually like my unit, I get along well with my coworkers they're extremely helpful and I love my residents. I don't want to switch it's like being thrown to the wolves. I worked a double on a different unit over there and it was terrible the residents were nasty towards me, the aides weren't much of a help at all. I fell behind bc I wasn't familiar with the residents or the cart I was on. I cried that night. I hated that unit all I kept thinking about was my unit that night Even tho all 4 units are ltc I just wasn't comfortable at all being on a diff unit. Just when I started to get comfortable on the unit I'm on now they wanna switch me and I'm not comfortable with that at all. This is my last week on my unit. All I want is to be part time on my current unit. It just isn't fair. Anyone ever been in a situation like this?

I mean if there is no part time line on your unit at the moment there isn't much your employer can do. Did you originally sign on for a full time contract and have asked to be switched to part time? If so you are lucky your employer has allowed this switch so early on in your employment. I've had jobs where during the probationary period you couldn't take any sick or vacation time let alone change your FTE.