Peds IV Tips....

Specialties PICU

Published

Specializes in Cath Lab, OR, CPHN/SN, ER.

Hello! I am a new ER nurse, and I have to say, peds is one of the things I am most scared of.

Does anyone have any tips on starting/maintaining peds IV's? Any help will be appreciated. -Andrea

hello friend,

I join paed for 5 years but in our country all iv drips are being calculated by our doctors and our duties is to set iv line and titrate the drips using infusion pump or syringe pump

Specializes in Peds Cardiology,Peds Neuro,Pedi ER,PICU, IV Jedi.

:)

Wow this is an old thread...but I'll add my $.02 anyway.

As I've started IVs here in Dallas for the better part of twelve years and probably over 1000 IVs, here's what I know.

1. If the baby's asleep and wakes when you flush the IV...it's probably bad.

2. If the left arm has an IV infusing and it's twice the size of the right arm (assuming no preexisting conditions)...it's probably bad. But check the TAPE JOB. Too tight on the tape will send an IV south very quickly.

3. If you're having trouble with an IV, break it down - take the tape off CAREFULLY and try to find out if the catheter is still in the vein - or in the skin for that matter. Sometimes over time the catheter can kink, especially with active children. Reflush, retape.

4. Flush your IVs frequently when establishing them. Both right when you hook up your tubing, and during the taping/securing process. You have no idea how strong little arms and hands can be and they can wiggle that catheter out of that vein like nobody's business.