Very Sad and Confused RN. Dont know what to do!

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in ED, LTC, ICU.

Ive been a nurse for two years and have always worked in the ER. I worked as a tech previously. Ive just come to that point where i believe i need a change. I work in comunity hospital ER that is not that busy so its not like the work is overwhelming.I just want to get away from the ER and my hospital for now and do something else. I dont feel like i belong somedays and maybe that is what it is. I inteviewed for an "IMC floor" and i did not like it. I guess it was basically tele and im not used to the tele routine so im going to refuse the job. I feel so confused and worried. A lot of people say that nurses who work on the floor sometimes would like to upgrade to the ER and its uncommon that nurses would like to leave the ER and go to another field like IMC or tele. Im so confused..i Need advice. I feel like a faliure......

Why are you failure, because you want out? There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, and it's great that you recognize that fact before you burn out totally, which is what happened to me. And the great thing about nursing is that there are SO many fields to choose from. I jumped ship entirely and went into home health last year, and I absolutely love it. There are fields with pt contact and little or no pt contact. You could even be a rep for a medical supply company! Don't feel like a failure, because you are not, and don't get discouraged. Broaden your search for a job and take chances. If you don't like something then you can choose something else.

Oh............and :wlcmggrp:to our group!

Tazzi is right - I left a rural hospital where I did a bit of everything for 9 years . . ER, OB, med/surg, OR (well, just the baby nurse for cesareans), etc.