If not bedside, where do you work?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Utilization Management.

I'm looking into alternatives to bedside nursing. I'm in too much pain to be able to do anything but my job at this point, so I definitely need something less physical. I don't want to live at my chiropractors and I refuse to get pain meds.

I have an ADN, plenty of (adult, especially geriatric) clinical experience, very strong office, writing, and teaching skills. I do not want to be a manager, nor do I think I would like to be on salary.

I am willing to learn but have zero desire to go back to school.

Any suggestions?

Specializes in Med/Surg, Geriatrics.

Angie, in my 15+ years of nursing working at the bedside has always been my side job. I never could stand to work 40 hours a week at the bedside. Currently I am a research nurse. Prior to this I worked in:

1)Employee health

2)Telephone advice

3)Pre-admission testing

4)Home Health

5)Corrections

There was probably some other things along the way but I cannot remember them right now. None of these positions required extra training that I could not get in orientation nor did they require a BSN although I was one(now a MSN). Keep your eyes open and you will find your opportunity.

Could you please elaborate? What exactly does your job entail? What training, hours, experience? How's the pay and benes? Do you work at an office, a hospital, or some other location?

I never investigated any of these jobs before because I was quite happy at the bedside until a few months ago.

Specializes in Peds, Med-Surg, Disaster Nsg, Parish Nsg.
I'm looking into alternatives to bedside nursing. I'm in too much pain to be able to do anything but my job at this point, so I definitely need something less physical. I don't want to live at my chiropractors and I refuse to get pain meds.