I've Had it! *Long*

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Onco, palliative care, PCU, HH, hospice.

I've posted about my issues with work before but for those who don't know, I've been working on a medical tele unit since I graduated about 10 months ago and the past few months work has gone down hill, short staffing, constant politics, impossible patients and families, unsupportive administration have taken their toll on me. I worked all weekend and I barely made it through, each day on my way home I cried from the frustration.:banghead::banghead:

I no longer feel like a good nurse, I feel more like an indentured servant. I have been miserable for a while but have tried to stay for various reasons, several of my co-workers are wonderful and I've become good friends with them, my family and friends have pressured me to stay at the hospital while I'm in school. They have the attitude that if I don't work in a hospital setting than I'm "not a nurse" :uhoh3:

I simply can't take it anymore, I love nursing, but I hate my job, I've applied at a state psychiatric facility because I've always loved psych and have been interested in it for quite a while, I've also applied at psych unit at a nearby medical hospital, and finally I've applied for a position at a reputable assisted living facility. The job I'm really wanting is at the state psych facility but who knows whether or not they'll want me.

A big part of me does feel like a failure for wanting to leave the hospital, anymore I just feel like a horrible nurse, I try my best but it's never enough.:( Oh well, hopefully one of the places I've applied at will take some interest in hiring me. Thanks for letting me vent, sorry for the long post :(

You come to the right place. You will be understood here.

My post:

https://allnurses.com/forums/f8/after-15-years-i-may-one-more-nurse-add-shortage-288298.html