Depression,Military Discharge..Career in nursing??

Nurses General Nursing

Published

First off I would like to say hello. This is a VERY informative site and am glad to have stumbled upon it. I am currently active duty in the Navy. I have been in for 6 years. I am a graduate of the Navys Nuclear Propulsion Program(2 year engineering program) and was assigned to a sub upon completion of that schooling. Thats where the depression manifsted itself..As a result of dealing with the depression on and off over the past couple of years I have finally recived the counseling/medications to understand and deal with my illness. More so the counseling as allowed me to progress to where I am able to funciton with out the meds. As a result of all this I was referred to Physical evaluation Board. They determined I was not suitable medically for naval service(despite outstanding evaluations from my superiors over the years) My discharge will be honorable..But will be coded as such that it was for medical reasons that I was released.

I have been looking into nursing that past few months. I am concerned that my past will dicate wether or not I can go down this career path. So my questions are:

1 How will this affect me when applying to a nursing program?

2 What role will it play when applying for a RN license?

Any personal experinces with this matter would be greatly appreciated.