Competent???

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Has anyone else been "tested" by "PBDS" or Performance Based Development Systems??? What was your experience? Very bad experience here! I've been a nurse for over 15 yrs, lots of competency exams, tests etc. This one was ridiculous--watched a 20 second video and had 7 minutes to make a MEDICAL DIAGNOSIS, decide what orders needed to be done 1st, 2nd etc what outcome was expected. There was one RIGHT answer!! No room for discussion!!! Now I'm being "remediated" for 6 weeks! Very humiliating. Has anyone else had a similiar experience??:confused:

pegg rn

11 Posts

i had to do pbds when i started at the hospital i am at now. i thought it was rediculous. i am a critical care nurse, not an md. if they want me to medically diagnose people they better pay me better!!! i did not do so well the first time i went through. i was thinking like a nurse. you know, could be this, could be that.... give me more information. you only get to see this 40sec clip and you are supposed to know what is wrong! anyway, they don't remediate you here, you just have to sit through the pbds class again. i did better the second time around, because i knew what they where looking for. my supervisor, director of critical care, didn't do much better than i did!

P_RN, ADN, RN

6,011 Posts

Specializes in ORTHOPAEDICS-CERTIFIED SINCE 89.

Remediated? Wonder which clipboard person came up with this dingbat idea?

Check out saracorbett's post herenear the bottom of the page. We need to FILL her e-mail box.

https://allnurses.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=64715#post64715

jschut, BSN, RN

2,743 Posts

I've never even heard of such a thing! How awful! Can't you complain to someone about it?:(

ovr40

6 Posts