Trying to become a nurse for 7 years

Nursing Students General Students

Published

Specializes in RN/Hematology/Oncology/Long-termcare/SNF.

Hi All,

I'm new to this. I'm 42. I'm looking to share hopes and dreams of becoming nurse while trying to jump over many obstacle.

Anyone who has failed a semester or two and is still trying let me know.

Thanks

Cissy

Specializes in Telemetry.

Pick yourself up and find another school. I have known students who got kicked out of three nursing colleges and they are nurses today. Apply at another school but use this theory: DON'T ASK DONT TELL! You will be fine.

Specializes in ICU, hospice, MS/tele, ED, corrections.

I can relate with the OP! While I diverged and went into a different career, I first decided I wanted to be a nurse I think 10 years ago! My career as a counselor was fulfilling in many ways, and gave me a sense of accomplishment, but now that I'm back pursuing my dream of becoming a nurse, it doesn't seem to account for much. I was recently failed out of clinicals in the second quarter of an LPN program. Very devastating for me. But, I am trying to remember to not give up! I guess, looking at the OP's post, it's clear to me that you should definitely keep trying! Wish it were so easy to say the same thing to myself...but, I guess that's why I need other people to encourage me, too. Best of luck to you!

Hi Kaplan,

I'm so new at this. I hope I'm replying to you. Yes, I am back in the program only it is the LPN program. I want to see if this goes through before I write anymore.

Hi Kaplan,

Oh, yes, I have picked myself up. I am currently in an LPN program at this same college. I have told myself that I won't give up even if I missed passing two semester in two different attempts at becoming an RN.

Even though I had to back and go into an LPN program. I just hold my head up and keep moving forward. You know, it is still so hard.