help.. help.. help.. please..

World International

Published

Hi guys! I'm new here in the canadian forum and I'm really interested in going to canada. I've already read some of your threads here and learned a lot. But there are still few things that confuses me. 1st, where do I have to apply first, in CRNBC or the province of my choice? 2nd, do I need an employer first before starting to file my registration so I can have the chance for the temporary registration? And lastly, I graduated last march 2006 and working since november2006 til present, do I have an edge in getting an employer sponsor me? Any information will be of big help. Thank you so much in advance. :flowersfo :bow:

Specializes in Critical Care.

Moderators, fellow nurses... please correct me if I'm wrong..

1st, you can apply in the province of your choice. BC is just one of the province in Canada.

2nd, not yet... From what I've read here, employers prefer those who are already eligible to take the CRNE rather than those who still need to undergo the bridging program.

lastly, someone told me that unlike in US, Canadian employers prefer those with experience rather than those who just graduated. So I guess that would give you a plus point...

Hope I answered you question....

Specializes in NICU, PICU, PCVICU and peds oncology.

lenjoy03 has it mostly right.

Each province has its own regulatory body called a College of Nursing. That's where you apply to have your credentials assessed, where you get authorization to write the Canadian Registered Nurse Examination (CRNE) and where you get your permit to practice from. CRNBC is the College of Registered Nurses of British Columbia, CARNA is the College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta, CNO is the College of Nurses of Ontario and so on. Lots of alphabet soup, isn't there?