Help! New RN grad wanting to quit job.

Nurses New Nurse

Published

I need advice on whether to quit or not my job. I graduated this past may with bachelors degree in nursing. Throughout the nursing program I knew I wanted labor and delivery. I ended up applying to a hospital that is ninety miles away from home. What is killing me is the stress of working and not knowing what to do. I had three months orientation sounds like a lot but in reality its only thirtysix nursing days. I work night shift and its a lot calmer than days but even then I have a hard time going to work. I get really nervous and constantly sick to my stomach every single day even on my days off. When im off im just thinking of the upcoming days I have to work and cant fall asleep. The days I manage to fall asleep theres nothing in this world that can wake me up or get me out of bed. I just get up to the restroom and dont feel like eating most of the time. I cry everyday on the way to and from work I cry before going to sleep and on my days off. I lost weight and a lot of hair. I know its just a matter of time but I cant help feeling this way. As crazy as ot sounds I wish something happened to me wish I had an illness to actually he an excuse and quit. I feel sooo miserable every single day whether im working or not. The months I have been here five nurses have quit two of them new grads like me. When they talked to the directors it was caos amd they ended up leaving their resignation letters under the door. All advice is greatly appreciated in this time of need when doubts are consuming me.

Are you working in L&D now? Is there a hospital nearby you can apply to? What specialty would you like to work now? Just needing clarification before I answer so I don't make assumptions.