New job and found out I'm pregnant

Nurses Career Support

Published

Ok, so here is my situation:

I worked as a brand new nurse for a few months at a hospital and learned i HATED it, so Ianded my dream job in CVU in another state. My husband and I moved so I could pursue my career in cardiac. I am currently about 7 weeks into my orientation and found out i am PREGNANT about a week and a half ago. It was a complete surprise. I would not have moved away from our families if I knew. Also, I absolutely loved my floor at first, but I am figuring out I am not thrilled about floor nursing in general, and this job is kind of disappointing because I was so excited at first AND we up and moved for this job! But anyway, I have been extremely exhausted working 12 hour nights while pregnant and i cant imagine how hard this will be the bigger i get. Additionally, I really want to quit and stay at home once the baby is here, and i am not even off orientation yet! Its like my priorities have totally changed since i found out im going to be a mother. So what do i do? Do i quit while not too much has been invested in me or do i try to stick it out til i pop?

Specializes in Nursing Professional Development.

What does your husband say about all of this? That is where I would start. Is he prepared to be the sole income earner in the family while you be a stay-at-home mother? If that is the lifestyle that the two of you choose together, then go for it.