How much OT do I have to do?

  1. Please help. The hospital I work in in Southern Illinois is having difficulties and is beginning to require large amounts of OT without any real option of consent. (There is no one to relieve you at the end of the shift). Several nurses have worked over 24 hours without the option of going home. How much OT can a hospital legally require me to work? I am especially concerned due to the bill not requiring OT pay by the President.
    Please help.
    •  
  2. 6 Comments

  3. by   movealong
    You may wish to post this topic in the general nursing forum, you receive a larger response.

    My memory fails me right now. I do believe there is a limit of hours that can be worked within a certain time span.

    I would never work 24 hours in a row unless it was under extreme circumstances: national emergency and the like. I'd be asking to sign a waiver releasing me from responiblity for these patients if I felt I was no longer capable of making good judgements based on lack of sleep. etc.
  4. by   wjf00
    I would finish the shift and never work another day. Mandatory overtime is against my religion.
  5. by   adidas99
    wow. i'd be furious if i worked over 24 hrs.
    Last edit by adidas99 on Jan 29, '07
  6. by   traumaRUs
    Please look at the Illinois Professional Regulation Site - you know = where you can look up your license...it has the information there. Good luck...I too don't want to do OT at this time so I always refuse.
  7. by   barefootlady
    I could be wrong but I have never heard of any hospital requiring or allowing more than 16 hours of work in a 24 hour period. It is then up to the supervisor in charge to maintain/obtain coverage for the patients under your care. Something is certainly wrong here and I would be calling my state board and getting some answers.
  8. by   MrChicagoRN
    Quote from bullRNIL

    I am especially concerned due to the bill not requiring OT pay by the President.
    .

    I have no idea what you are referring to here. OT pay is mandated by law. On some circumstances it is required after 8 hours, 40 in a week, or 80 perppay period. But it does need to be paid.

    The other 2 points sound way outside the law. You need to contact the Illinois Department of Labor and IDPH.

    OOPS. Just noticed this is a VERY OLD POST

close