Right way to study?

Nursing Students General Students

Published

HI

I have a big test coming up it covers muskeloskelatal, pain, death and dying,sleep.

Last test I failed so I have to do great on this one. Last test I studied my heart out.

I am reading over my notes and going back to the book when I am not sure of an idea or to elaborate on something but I am not sure if memorization is the way to go. That is what I did last time I memorized my notes. That is how I got and A in my college classes but I am not sure if it is the way to go in nursing school. The questions they ask are usually not definition type questions so memorizing everything does not really help right?

As long as you know the subject and understand the ideas and meanings that should help with the test right?

I do not know anymore I am just very worried but I am trying my best.

once you basically have the info. down, then start doing practice nclex type questions to get you in the frame of mind for critically thinking in that area. they want you to be able to apply the info. you have learned so you are correct in that just memorizing at this point is not enough, do practice questions like i said so you can "apply the info." in situations/senarios

good luck!

I used to be a straight A student... I could go to lecture and take great notes... do most of my reading and ace every test. Heck I could pretty much quote the teacher word for word when it came down to it. That doesnt work in nursing school though! LOL I learned that with the first test... so I studied even harder for the second... I got an 80%... that hurt. I had never studied so hard in my life. I then realized I was studying wrong. But at the same time I dont think there is a right way to study. Each person has a technique that works for them. Since I figured out mine I have gotten a 88 and 86 on the last two tests. They still arent the best grades but they are passing and they are above class averages.