Which shoes should I buy?

Nursing Students Male Students

Published

I start clinical in September and I was wondering which men's shoes are most comfortable?

I start clinical in September and I was wondering which men's shoes are most comfortable?

I'm not sure which shoes are the best but for my clinicals we need an all white shoes. I'm thinking about getting me a pair of all white nike shox. I had a 2 pairs of nike shox and it's one of the best shoes I've worn.

Specializes in Neonatal ICU (Cardiothoracic).

I have Nike SHOX and they are great. I've been wearing the same pair for almost 2 years, and my feet still don't hurt. Now whether or not your school allows "athletic" type shoes at clinical is another issue. In that case, I would definitely go with Merrells white "moc" type show. They're all white and nonathletic looking. Good luck with school!

I have had back surgeries and love Rockport or SAS. They cost but are well worth the money.

For us guys with wide feet and who are required to have "real" shoes as opposed to "sneakers," there isn't a lot of choices. I have a bad back and bad knees. I found a great pair of white men's nursing shoes at Standing Comfort. They're expensive but at the end of the shift, I don't think about them. They're really great.

Specializes in Extern so far....

I started clinicals wearing some cheap $19 Wal-Mart brand white leather shoes. My knees, feet, and hips were killing me at the end of each clinical. Fortunately, I was able to scrape up enough money to buy some Merrill white mocs by end of clinicals to wear. They are heavenly!

Only downside is that they do seem to get scratched easily but nothing a bit of shoe polish can't fix.

you will really have to try different things until you find what works for you the best. i work in surgery scrubbing long cases, so there isn't any sitting, not that there is much on the floors, but once scrubbed in you stand until it is finished.