What's utilization management like?

Nurses General Nursing

Published

I'm currently DON in a LTC and can't take the stress and long hours any more. Don't get me wrong, I'm doing a great job. Just passed survey with flying colors. But in the past 3 weeks I've had 1 day off and my bosses feel that's just how it's supposed to be.

So I applied for a position as "Utilization Management Manager," and a recruiter called me today. I'm wondering what a day in the life of a utilization management manager would be like. I'm especially wondering if they get out of work on time and get their weekends off.

I'm a UM manager and I make sure to have work life balance. But again, that's give and take. There are some weekdays I work long evenings and those weeks I don't work on the weekend, so it highly depends on how I balance my work. Is this a UM manager position for a payer company or hospital? There is a difference. PM me if you have specific questions.

Thanks for your response. It's for a payer. I'm wondering how the stress level would compare to my LTC DON position. The same corporation has a utilization review nurse position open and, although it would pay significantly less, I'm willing to take a pay cut for lower stress and fewer hours than I'm experiencing in my current position

Respectfully, a UM manager role on the payer side can be very stressful as you are up against many departments including marketing/sales, compliance, legal, operations, etc. who drive company business. However, it is dependent on the individual in this position to not allow the stress/work over consume daily life. My strong advice is not to go into this position thinking it is low stress. Instead think about, what will you do to balance work-life?