Completely off topic in a nursing forum..but

World UK

Published

Hello fellow nurses

As the title of my thread indicates...this is completely off topic but I was hoping since many of you that frequent this specific section of the site live and work in England could provide me with assistance.

I am currently an American nurse. But have wanted to relocate to London for the last year or so. I am not going to pursue working as an RN in the UK simply because the process is way too demanding and from what I have read on these threads not a financially savvy endeavor. Hence, I am decided to redirect my career into becoming a Math teacher.

Can I ask you all what teaching is like in the UK? I am looking to live and work in London or in one of the suburbs. I am single with a little savings and planning to take out loans for school and living as well. Can teachers live comfortably in the area? Are there jobs post graduation/qualification? Do you know with a BS degree already how long programs are? Can I pursue a masters rather than another bachelor's degree?

Instead of pursuing the degree in the states I would rather pursue it in the UK and hopefully from there have more mobility to move around Europe to teach if I wanted. I could see myself living there long term. As I am aware I probably can't use a UK teaching degree in the US (but that is ok).

I could use any and all advice from those of you who know the school system and whether or not this would be feasible as an American?

Thanks!

Specializes in ER.

Teaching pay is not very different to nurses, in other words, about half what you are used to in the US!

London is an exceptionally expensive place to live and so the government decided to help all the "keyworkers" with subsidised accommodation.

Keyworkers are teachers, nurses, paramedics, firemen and police, all the low pay public service staff.