Path to CNM

Specialties Ob/Gyn

Published

I am a first year nursing student. I have years of med experience as med asst, ECG tech, and was an apprentice midwife with a CNM and OB/GYN at a birth center. I decided I wanted to be a CNM, not direct entry midwife doing home birth, the reason I'm going to nursing school. My question is what is the most direct route, and is it worth it for me to pursue at my age. I am 46, and I need to work when I get out of nursing school. How does that work out for people, working while getting CNM? I have been going to school for the last three years, I think I am just feeling tired, and the thought of how many more years of school makes me even more tired! It is my calling I believe, I will go on. I just wanted to hear from others on their journey to Midwifery. THere is an ADN to MSN at UCSF in San Francisco that sounds promising! Any suggestions or words of encouragement would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. :)

I highly recommend that you have at least two years experience working in Labor and Delivery before beginning CNM program. Most others that work in the area will go along with what I am saying..............

Just becasue you are closer to my age, don't try to rush things or it will come back to bite you on the butt............there is so much to see and learn by just being in the Delivery Room before thinking about more physcial schooling on top of that...........

I highly recommend that you have at least two years experience working in Labor and Delivery before beginning CNM program. Most others that work in the area will go along with what I am saying..............

Just becasue you are closer to my age, don't try to rush things or it will come back to bite you on the butt............there is so much to see and learn by just being in the Delivery Room before thinking about more physcial schooling on top of that...........