Errors at Work

Nurses General Nursing

Published

Specializes in Psych.

There is something I would like to talk about that seems to be a taboo among nurses: errors at work. I have make them. In the last 7 years, I have made many of them; most were minor and basically harmless. I have made at least one serious error (errors are errors and we don't always realize we have made them); I immediately notified my charge nurse. To my knowledge, there was no serious injury to the patient. I was so upset by the situation, I had to leave work that day and I had to go to EAP for counselling. I wondered if I would ever practice as a nurse again; I was just horrified and very scared to return to work! My nurse manager was cool about it and assured me I was a good nurse, but my charge nurse still holds a grudge (no longer work in that dept) against me because I insisted on leaving that day. I was a wreck and as I worked in ICU, I felt unsafe.

I would say I am a safe practioner; in fact, I have never been told otherwise. I have never had any negative reviews in regard to my practice or safety. I think of myself as a good nurse, but sometimes when I am stressed or a bit down, I think "Maybe I should not be in nursing" and ruminate over mistakes I made. We, as nurses, never talk about them, their effect on our mental health, the risk to patients or anything at all. I hate secrets and I hate this part of nursing.

Specializes in Psychiatry, Case Management, also OR/OB.