Curious...using the title "Doctor" for a DNP...

Specialties Doctoral

Published

For a friendly debate topic.....

I remembered reading an old post awhile ago where an NP (who got her DNP) was told by Human Resources that she couldn't use the title "Doctor" at the hospital, because it would mislead the patients.

I am wondering if anyone has seen or heard anything similar where they work (you personally or someone else).

If hospitals are "all about introductions", I see nothing wrong with telling a patient, "Hi, I'm Dr. Smith, I'm a Nurse Practioner"...I see no difference between that and saying, "Hi, I'm Dr. Jones and I'm your Cardiologist".

To me, that would be a HUGE slap in the fact to someone who has worked hard for that degree, because they are entitled to use that title.

What ya'll think?

I know my dentist didn't go to medical school, but I call him "doctor."

I know my vet didn't go to medical school, but I call her "doctor."

And my personal fave, professors who have Ph.Ds. I know they don't have clinical degrees, but some of them want to be called "doctor."

I think the human resources department that thinks I would be confused by a DNP who refers to himself or herself as "doctor" should give me more credit. Especially when I'm staring at his or her name tag. Most consumers can figure out that an MD is not a DO. I think they can recognize that a DNP is not an MD.

Well, the thing is...I think it's a matter of educating the public.

I come from a large medical family and thought I was very well-versed in the differnet medical titles, degress, etc...however, on my first day of clinicals this semester...I saw several residents running around with DO after their name...and I was almost embarrassed that I had no idea of what the title meant.

I had never seen it before.